Delving into the appendix

When I feel good, I like to try a new book. I am building up to reading Irene Nemirovsky’s Suite Francaise in French. At the moment however, I am reading the appendices to The Lord of the Rings – hopefully the blue spell won’t last long enough to tackle the actual story.
The appendices are a good thing, as you can get close enough to the characters and the plot without actually having to connect with the whole story proper. No such luck with the lovely Salman Rushdie’s The Moor’s Last Sigh – have lost count of how many times I’ve read this, or with Memoirs of a Geisha. I should be more adventurous but there is nothing more reassuring than renewing a friendship with a fictional character. Over time your relationship to them and opinion changes depending on your own circumstances. My mother succinctly summed this up vis a vis her own relationship with Mrs Bennett from Pride and Prejudice: “I really found her odious as a teenager but as I grew up and had a daughter of my own I though what else could she do for the best for her girls in that era.” This shows the fluidity of our own opinions, while the essence of our souls remains the same. To quote my Mum again – “No matter how many times I read it, I still thought Madame Bovary was a silly bitch!”

3 responses to “Delving into the appendix

  1. George…

    It’s 03.51 on Thursday morning and I can’t sleep for the second night running. I have had hideous stomach pains since Monday – I believe self-induced after indulging in too many left overs of gak (crisps + biscuits) from Zak’s party. (Will book a doctor’s appointment when the sun rises).

    Anyhow, at this unearthly hour, it’s been such a pleasure to discover your blog pages – which have been a very welcome distraction to how sorry I’m feeling for myself! I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read so far (which is all of them, to date). I particulalry enjoyed your accounts of all things Flo and Theo related. I’m looking forward to the rest already and hope you one day have the time/inclination to write a book – you have a wonderful way with words.

    Keep up the good work and hope to see you soon,
    Love to all the family,
    Em
    XXX

  2. Have sent you a parcel of easy reading – you should not be ‘deliving into the appendix’ that is a bridge too far.

    love as always
    Sal xxx

  3. Aha, lots more Flo and Theo related stuff to come. Hope the recipes didn’t upset your stomach further, Em.

    Sally – thanks for the reading material. Had all but memorized those 2 issues of Grazia!

    gxx

Leave a Reply

